Online Video: Prof. Robert Farris Thompson

timothydwightcoatofarmsProf. Robert Farris Thompson is a personal hero of mine.  Master of Timothy Dwight College since before I was born, he introduced me to capoeira, mambo and how to be cool.  Brilliant man, amazing professor, genuinely caring soul.

When I came across this rather lurid, though completely plausible explanation of the etymology of the term “Rock n’ Roll” that was tagged by a blogger as associated to RFT, I knew I just had to share my fave YouTube clip of him, offering his poetic take on Gullah culture and the visual grammar of black-Atlantic textiles and visual art:

Leave a Reply

